Research never stops

Top Story

Upcoming Webinar: Medicinal Chemistry Excellence: Efficient and Innovative Solutions for Superior Pre-clinical Candidates

Webinar TitleMedicinal Chemistry Excellence: Efficient and Innovative Solutions for Superior Pre-clinical Candidates

Date: Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Time: 10am EDT (NA) / 3pm BST (UK) / 4pm CEST (EU-Central)

Presented by
Dr. Craig Johnstone, EVP, Global Head of Chemistry and Directeur General, Evotec France

For detailed information and the registration form, please click here.

High-quality medicinal chemistry, the science and art of designing and synthesizing novel compounds for therapeutic use, demands a fascinating blend of human creativity, extensive knowledge and experience in the field, multi-disciplinary awareness, and high-end scientific thinking and tools. In addition, the effectiveness with which the science is executed is highly dependent on the quality of the infrastructure surrounding the scientists. For example, the best scientists will still make slow progress if turnaround time for pivotal results is slow, and conversely, faster results do not create an inventive step. Often, drug discovery projects take place in a race to invent and a race to progress. Therefore, in order to conduct the very best quality medicinal chemistry, and deliver faster invention of better quality preclinical compounds, it is necessary to combine creativity, knowledge, science and process in a well-managed, virtuous blend.

During this webinar, the speaker will describe Evotec's medicinal chemistry and drug discovery philosophy. Through the medium of case studies, the speaker will highlight the importance of high quality in molecular design and importance of speed in execution of synthesis, testing and decision-making. The speaker will share the success Evotec has achieved by optimizing and combining these key principles, thereby giving the company the confidence to increase business risk in medicinal chemistry execution.